Aged Care Quality Standards

Online Courses

The Quality Standards

The Quality Standards focus on outcomes for consumers and reflect the level of care and services the community can expect from organisations that provide Commonwealth subsidised aged care services.

Standard 1: Consumer dignity and choice
Standard 2: Ongoing assessment and planning
Standard 3: Personal care and clinical care
Standard 4: Services and supports for daily living
Standard 5: Organisation’s service environment
Standard 6: Feedback and complaints
Standard 7: Human resources
Standard 8: Organisational governance

Each of the Aged Care Quality Standards is expressed in three ways:

  • a statement of outcome for the consumer.
  • a statement of expectation for the organisation.
  • organisational requirements to demonstrate that the standard has been met.

Organisations providing Commonwealth subsidised aged care services are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards (Quality Standards). Organisations will be assessed and must be able to provide evidence of their compliance and performance against the Quality Standards.